AMA Innovation Award 2017: Five Teams Nominated

page media image 1

Special Award “Young Enterprises” goes to SLT Sensor- and Lasertechnik

The AMA Association for Sensors and Measurement has nominated five submissions for the AMA Innovation Award 2017. The Special Award for “Young Enterprises” goes to Jens Karsten Lange’s team from SLT Sensor- und Lasertechnik GmbH in Wildau, Germany.

Berlin, 9 March 2017—The AMA Innovation Award is among the most renown prizes in sensor and measuring technology and is to be presented for the 17th time. This year, 41 research and development teams from Germany and abroad submitted their projects for the 10,000-eur award. Startups, active for five years, with less than 50 employees, and annual revenues under 10 million euros, were able to compete for the special “Young Enterprise” award. The winning team receives a trade-fair presence at the SENSOR+TEST 2017 in Nuremberg, Germany, free of charge.

This year the special award was bestowed on Jens Karsten Lange’s team from SLT Sensor- und Lasertechnik GmbH in Wildau, Germany, and representatives of the PTB, Germany’s National Metrology Institute in Berlin. The team jointly developed detectors for absolute power measurement in the terahertz spectral range. It saw its major challenge in the fact that until recently there were no calibrated detectors for the evaluation the THz power of time-domain spectroscopy (TDS) systems made by different manufacturers. Three characteristic quantities were not available: broad-band, extended area, and high sensitivity. The sensors developed in the submission meet these requirement and are now to be sold by SLT including an individual calibration certificate from the PTB.

“As members of the jury from research and industry, we are positively surprised by the high quality of the outstanding submissions every year out of which we nominate five teams for the AMA Innovation Award. This year’s projects prove just how sensor and measurement technology point the way ahead,” said Andreas Schütze, the jury chair from the Saarland University. “We are glad indeed to be able to bestow the Young Enterprise award among the five nominees. Jens Karsten Lange and his team from SLT and the PTB are invited to present free of charge their detectors for absolute power measurement in the terahertz spectral range at the SENSOR+TEST from 30 May to 1 June 2017.”

Nominated for the AMA Innovation Award 2017 (in alphabetical order) are:

BactiSense: Thermal identification of bacteria and viability testing
Dr. Bart van Grinsven, Prof. Dr. Thomas Cleij (University Maastricht), Dr. Kasper Eersels, Prof. Dr. Patrick Wagner (KU Leuven) / brochure p. 6

Detectors for absolute power measurement in the terahertz spectral range
Dr. Werner Bohmeyer, Achim Mans, Jens Karsten Lange (SLT, Wildau) und Dr. Andreas Steiger, Dr. Ralf Müller (PTB, Berlin) / brochure p. 6

Flame ionization detector with an internal gas supply as a field instrument
Dr. Winfred Kuipers, Dr. Jan Förster, Dr. Christian Koch (Krohne GmbH, Duisburg), Dr. Steffen Ziesche, Christian Lenz (Fraunhofer IKTS, Dresden) / brochure p. 7

Magnetic-inductive force sensor
Dr. Phillip Coerlin, Dr. Tobias Kitzler, Dr. Tobias Senkbeil, Anatol Schwersenz,
Christian Leiser, Sebastian Schwiertz, Steffen Witzemann (Trafag GmbH, Unterensingen) und Lutz May (Torque And More GmbH, Starnberg) / brochure p. 7

Radio-frequency diesel and gasoline particulate filter sensor
Dr. Alexander Sappok, Dr. Paul Ragaller (CTS Corporation, Malden, USA)
Dr. Leslie Bromberg (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) / brochure p. 8

The winners of the AMA Innovation Award 2017 will be made known at the opening ceremony of the SENSOR+TEST 2017 trade fair in Nuremberg on 30 May 2017.

An overview of all projects submitted for the AMA Innovation Award 2017 and their development teams can be downloaded at:

Characters (incl. spaces): 3,965


Photos of SENSOR+TEST are available for download here.


Press contact:
AMA Verband für Sensorik und Messtechnik e.V.
Pascale Taube
Press & PR Officer
Sophie-Charlotten-Str. 15 / 14059 Berlin / Germany
Tel. +49 30 22190362-20 / Fax +49 30 22190362-40 /


back to overview